Book review | Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

20160515-riggs-ransom-miss-peregrine

rating-4-stars

A few weeks ago I wandered around in The American Book Center, my favourite English bookstore in Amsterdam. I quickly found myself drawn to the horror section. Though I am a bit of a scaredy-cat, spooky stories always intrigue me. On that day, one book in particular caught my eye. The strange photos on the dust jacket, the linen cover with gold writing, the old photographs and the decorated pages… I just could not resist picking up a copy of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. It felt like browsing through an old journal and I could barely wait finding a cosy nook to start reading.

 So what is Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children about? Sixteen-year-old Jacob grew up with his grandpa’s unusual photographs and tall tales about children with special abilities. After his grandfather’s tragic death, he soon finds himself on a remote island off the coast of Wales. Here Jacob discovers an abandoned orphanage, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, and he begins to doubt if his grandfather’s stories were only stories.

 Expecting it to be a ghost story, I obviously did not dare to read it after dark. However after the first creepy chapters, the book swept me up in an exciting story without any real ghosts, I promise. The pictures in the book give the story a strange sense of reality. It also reminds me that all pictures come with a story that, peculiar or not, are often still pretty wonderful. In the photograph above, I included some pictures of my family’s stories. For instance, the horse once saved my then three-year-old father by not wanting its favourite snack. My grandfather found it strange, looked at the ditch behind him and saw that his son was no longer standing there. My grandfather was just in time to fish my father out of the water. Isn’t that one peculiar horse?

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is the first book of a trilogy. I have read them all and I loved every minute spent in this strange, gothic fantasy. I would like to point out it is a Young Adult book. Since I found it in the horror section, I did not realise it until I was already fascinated by the pictures, plot and characters. I do not mind a good YA book once in a while and these books were definitely worth my time.

For more information about these books, the author and photography visit Ransom Riggs’ website: www.ransomriggs.com

Riggs, Ransom. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Philadelphia: Quirk Books, 2011.

12 thoughts on “Book review | Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. Huriyah says:

    I read the first book a while ago and loved it too but haven’t had the time to read the second and third! Glad you enjoyed them all, will look into seriously getting the rest now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

