Book review | Uprooted by Naomi Novik

20160521-novik-naomi-uprooted

rating-5-stars

Love, love, love this book! It took me under two days to finish it and I wanted to read it again at once. Thankfully I could control myself and wrote this book review instead. I have not been able to stop talking about this story and I am thrilled to share it with you.

A dark forest, a high tower, tons of magic and a young heroine taken prisoner by a mysterious wizard. Isn’t that just awesome and very much like a fairy tale? Although this story contains some elements of familiar fairy tales, such as Beauty and the Beast and Rapunzel, it is incredibly fresh and exciting.

I don’t want to spoil anything by giving you some kind of summary, so here is a quote from Uprooted that convinced me to read the book:

“Our Dragon doesn’t eat the girls he takes, no matter what stories they tell outside our valley. […] He takes a girl to his tower, and ten years later he lets her go, but by then she’s someone different” (3).

Where other writers might have devoted entire chapters on what readers most likely consider to be major events in the novel, Naomi Novik barely spends a paragraph on; it works though. Uprooted is fast paced and written in such a way that you can almost feel the magic. Novik’s storytelling makes it very easy to imagine a world where people battle a corrupted wood and find magic in everyday life. This dark wood does not only imprison characters in the story, it totally captures me. This book goes on my favourites-shelf without a doubt and I would recommend it to everyone who loves a magical story.

Nice detail: the metal ornament in the photograph was once the headboard of a four-poster bed my dad made and now decorates my parents’ garden as a frame for blossoming climbers. In the centre of the frame is a heart with my parents initials. A recycled happily-ever-after for their symbol of love. Too corny? Lol. Go and find out if Naomi Novik’s Uprooted is a happily-ever-after for you.

Want to know more about Naomi Novik? Check out her website: www.naominovik.com

Novik, Naomi. Uprooted. New York: Del Rey, (2015) 2016.

9 thoughts on “Book review | Uprooted by Naomi Novik

    • marryen says:

      Thank you! I have a huge TBR pile as well and checking out other book blogs doesn’t really help making it smaller. 🙂 Uprooted should definitely be on the TBR shelf of fantasy addicts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

