Book review | A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

20160717-maas-sarah-j-a-court-of-thorns-and-roses

rating-4-stars

‘I knew I was headed down a path that would likely end in my mortal heart being left in pieces, and yet … And yet I couldn’t stop myself’ (221).

On an incredible amount of book blogs, I found reviews of Sarah J. Maas’ novels. The reviews of A Court of Thorns and Roses were written with such enthusiasm that I bought this book instead of the first installment of the Throne of Glass series.

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a variation on ‘Beauty and the Beast’, but fiercer, darker and more enchanting. Feyre hunts in order to provide food for her family. One night she kills an animal that is part of the Fairie Realms behind The Wall. When a stranger comes knocking at her family’s cabin, he tells her the price for killing the fairie animal is ‘a human life in exchange’ (37). In order to keep her family safe, she accepts his offer to live behind The Wall in a magical, strange and dangerous land.

The first page of the book instantly pulled me into Feyre’s world and I could barely stop reading. Luckily I had a few days off! So my advice: clear your schedule before even thinking of opening this book. A Court of Thorns and Roses is more on the adult side of young adult which I like. It contains romance, a huge inferiority complex, magical creatures, evil lurking and an action-packed ending. I however couldn’t give this book a five-star rating, because the second book in the series is even better and I do not have a six-star rating system.

Find out more on: www.sarahjmaas.com

Maas, Sarah J. A Court of Thorns and Roses. London, Oxford, New York, New Delhi and Sydney: Bloomsbury Publishing, 2015.

One thought on “Book review | A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

