Book review | Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

20160809-moyes-jojo-me-before-you

rating-5-stars

“There is a hunger in you, Clark. A fearlessness. You just buried it, like most people do ” (480).

In  Me Before You we meet Lou, a woman with an ordinary and rather unadventurous life. This all changes when Lou loses her job and finds work looking after Will Traynor, a wheelchair-bound man. Will Traynor lived an extraordinary life before his accident and has difficulty accepting his new situation. Lou must step out of her comfort zone to find ways to bring joy in Will’s life.

Sometimes you come across a character that you would instantly be best friends with if he or she would exist in the real world. Lou Clark seems to jump out of the pages of the book and I simply love her.  Not only Lou is charming, her whole family is loveable. Their conversations and actions are incredibly authentic. Although they have their flaws and problems, the Clarks are a warm, tight-knit family. Me Before You was a joy to read, because the lives the characters lead are extraordinary ordinary.

I read this book in July, because one of my friends wanted to see the film adaptation. I am one of those people who always tries to read the book first. I only had two days to read it and I thought it was going to be a struggle to finish it on time, but it wasn’t. This book just flows. The story develops with such an ease. There wasn’t a moment it bored me. It was the first book I read by Jojo Moyes, but it will definitely not be the last. Although it was a few months ago I read Me Before You, I wanted to write a review about it anyway. The story just stuck with me and I know it won’t be long before I decide to read it for a second time. I highly recommend this book to every romantic.

Did any of you read the book and see the movie? What did you think? I loved the book and I enjoyed the movie very much. Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin were perfectly cast. I loved their chemistry on screen. Of course there are differences between the book and the movie, but it doesn’t bother me. The book and the movie each tell a slightly different story, but they are both worthwhile. Both in the book and the movie I loved the scene with the red dress hence the red dress in the picture.

Moyes, Jojo. Me Before You. UK, USA, Canada, Ireland, Australia, India, New Zealand and South Africa: Penguin Books, (2012) 2016.

7 thoughts on “Book review | Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

    • Marryen @ Storyscope says:

      Thanks! Lou seems to be afraid to live. Her job, her boyfriend, the way she spends her time are all ok, but it seems like she is going through the motions. She is alive, but not really living. Taking care of Will and being in his company changes her. Will pushes her to engage in life, to find out what it is she wants to accomplish. Yes, the relationship is incredibly complicated. I don’t want to give any spoilers, but if the book didn’t end the way it did the relationship might have become unhealthy. However I believe Lou’s time with Will is a vital chapter of her life where she starts on a journey to find herself.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. thebookwormsfantasy says:

    Great review! I absolutely loved this book (it’s one of my all time favourites) and I thought the film was brilliant too. I highly recommend that you read the sequel After You – it’s not quite as good as Me Before You but still was a very enjoyable read 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

