3 Days 3 Quotes Tag – Day 1

tags-and-awards-3-days-3-quotes-1-jane-eyre

Maja @ MayaTheBookExplorer nominated me for the 3 Days 3 Quotes Tag. If you are looking for honest and smashing reviews, go check out Maja’s blog.

I’ve been wanting to do this tag for ages, but I couldn’t really find the courage to start. Since I am a perfectionist, I put way too much pressure on choosing the perfect quotes. Until yesterday that is. Instead of choosing one of Tolkien’s or J.K. Rowling’s books to quote from (books with in my opinion brilliant quotes), I decided to just walk to my bookcase and pick three books from three different genres. In every book I love there is a quote that strikes a chord with me and I often jot down these quotes in my notebook. I am really fond of the quotes I chose and I hope you enjoy them as well.

The Rules

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Post a quote for 3 consecutive days (1 quote for each day).
  3. Nominate three new bloggers each day.

To the bloggers I’ve nominated: please feel free to ignore the nomination if you don’t want to do this tag.

Quote Day 1 – Jane Eyre

“Women are supposed to be very calm generally: but women feel just as men feel; they need exercise for their faculties, and a field for their efforts as much as their brothers do; they suffer from too rigid a restraint, to absolute a stagnation, precisely as men would suffer; and it is narrow-minded in their more privileged fellow-creatures to say that they ought to confine themselves to making puddings and knitting stockings, to playing on the piano and embroidering bags. It is thoughtless to condemn them, or laugh at them, if they seek to do more or learn more than custom has pronounced necessary for their sex.” (129-130).

Jane Eyre is a highly quotable novel. I found it difficult choosing the quote I liked most, but considering current affairs this one seemed appropriate. As the Women’s March of last week demonstrated, it is still key to focus on gender issues and strive for equality in the present day. The issues addressed in Jane Eyre, a novel written by a woman about a woman, were way ahead of its time. This quote speaks for itself. When read out loud, it sounds so powerful and strong.

Today’s nominees:

Brontë, Charlotte. Jane Eyre. London, etc.: Penguin Classics, 2006.

7 thoughts on “3 Days 3 Quotes Tag – Day 1

Leave a Reply

