3 Days 3 Quotes Tag – Day 2

tags-and-awards-3-days-3-quotes-2-the-fault-in-our-stars

I love to discover and rediscover wonderful quotes. On Pinterest I collect all kinds of texts. From books, movies, songs, people like you and me, and so on. Some to inspire, give courage, lift my spirits or just make me laugh. When I have an off day, reading my collection of Pinterest quotes always makes me feel better and gets my hopes up. Yesterday I shared a quote from Jane Eyre. Check out this quote and the rules at 3 Days 3 Quotes Tag – Day 1. Today I chose a beautifully written quote from a contemporary love story.

Quote Day 2 – The Fault in our Stars

“There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. A writer we used to like taught us that. There are days, many of them, when I resent the size of my unbounded set. I want more numbers than I’m likely to get, and God, I want more numbers for Augustus Waters than he got. But, Gus, my love, I cannot tell how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days” (260).

Some people in our life make a bigger impact than others do. It is not about the quantity of time spent together, it is the quality that matters. An hour spent with your best friend can be more memorable than a week spent with someone else. Although we don’t have an equal amount of time on earth and although we are not able to spend as much time with the people we love as we would have liked, it is important to treasure the time we are able to be together.

Today’s nominees:

Green, John. The Fault in our Stars. United States: Dutton Books, 2012.

One thought on “3 Days 3 Quotes Tag – Day 2

Leave a Reply

